July 4, 2014

By: irisheyes317

Jul 04 2014

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Photography

2 Comments

Aperture:f/3.2
Focal Length:8.336mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot A720 IS

It won’t take a genius to figure out that my Project365 challenge today has something to do with July 4th.  My prompt is “ALL-AMERICAN.”  I contemplated about what to photograph to best capture this.  Of course, the usual images of apple pie and baseball came to mind, as did a photo of a Fourth of July barbecue complete with hot off the grill hot dogs, hamburgers, and all the fixin’s. But what about the customary fireworks?  After all, every July 4th celebration ends with those bright streams of colors painting the evening the sky while culminating in a deafening boom that you feel in the center of your chest, right?  Wow, what a dilemma.  What should I choose?

 

After thinking a little while longer, I realized that my photo would NOT be any of those.  The only way those rites of summer are possible is because of something that happened 238 years ago. Something that changed the course of human events.  Something that guaranteed our inalienable rights to LIFE, LIBERTY, and THE PURSUIT of HAPPINESS.  Obviously, our declaration of freedom and the birth of a new nation.   A nation where people of all races, nationalities, creeds, religious affiliations, sexual orientations, and political affiliations are welcome.  A nation built on democracy.  A nation, no matter who leads it, is one of greatness because of its people.  A nation that I’m proud to call my home.

 

So today, I photographed something that best represents my view of “ALL AMERICAN.”  The national symbol that represents the valor and bravery of those who fought for our freedom and continue to do so today.  My photo of course, “OLD GLORY,” an easily recognizable symbol that means so much to this AMERICAN……….

2 comments on “July 4, 2014”

  1. Good blog! Perfect choice.


Leave a comment