July 3, 2014

By: irisheyes317

Jul 03 2014

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Photography

2 Comments

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:NIKON D5100

It’s July 3rd and my Project365 challenge for today is “BLUE” the third component of the Red, White, and Blue photo trilogy.   While I did go out and photograph a few photos depicting blue earlier today, I was drawn to this photo from my most recent visit to the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  I guess I’m feeling somewhat nostalgic about my adopted home away from home.

 

I began visiting the Outer Banks in the late 1980’s.  Each year I would select a different beach house to rent.  (Deep down I guess my goal was to see just how many I slept in, you know kind of like all those locations that boast that George Washington slept here). HAHAHA!!!   Of course, the first houses were older saltbox homes with few creature comforts.  Actually, the only requirement was an abundance of sleeping space, bathrooms, a location within walking distance of the beach, and the mandatory central air conditioning. Each year, however,  the list of amenities grew.  Now, I opt for oceanfront homes, with hot tubs, private pools, elevators, outside bar area and of course, a house that was recently built.  Hey, why not live like the other half does even IF it’s only for a week or two of the year?  One item still remaining on my bucket list is to stay in one of the massive brand new oceanfront homes with 10+ bedrooms, with all the amenities your mind could fathom, tons of oceanfront decks with multiple hot tubs and a huge private pool, and of course,  a media room for days when the liquid sunshine makes an appearance on the Outer Banks.   Okay, I can dream, right?

 

I really guess my reason for selecting this photo TONIGHT is two-fold.  One, because I LOVE the blue color that I captured in this photo and two because of what’s happening off the coast of North Carolina at this time.  You see, the Outer Banks is the direct path of Hurricane Arthur which is now a Category 2 Hurricane.  Since this chain of barrier islands juts out into the Atlantic Ocean further east than the coastlines of Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina many hurricanes end up bashing this area.  The ocean and sound have battered and completely washed out Route 12, the narrow roadway between Hatteras Island and Nags Head.  Beach erosion due to the high winds and surf assault the east coast only to return as a powerful storm surge on the western side after the eye passes the island.  I’m hoping Arthur decides to take a sudden turn to the east and spare my happy place so that when I return later this summer my beach still looks as gorgeous as it does in my “BLUE” photo….

 

 

2 comments on “July 3, 2014”

  1. great wave shot!


Leave a comment