March 13, 2014

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.”

                                                                                                Robert Louis Stevenson

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, the “FOREST FLOOR.”  What a delightful prompt for today’s Project365 challenge.  I only wish the temperature was not in the high teens with the constant breeze that was adding insult to injury.

I waited until late afternoon to set out on my forest tramping excursion to make sure I was out during the warmest part of the day. Right, 19 degrees, a virtual heat wave from the negative 8 degrees this morning.  Yikes, with gloves, a hat and my camera in tow I set out on my mission.  I was bound and determined to find something and get back into the 90+ degree car ASAP…

Once I parked the car and set out on what I hoped was my 5 minute find, I forgot all about the cold because I became engrossed with what I found on the forest floor.  My spirit was changed and renewed by all of my interesting finds (a leftover lump of ice from the most recent snowfall,  a variety of animal footprints in the soil and an abundance of rocks, decaying leaves, and even a soggy, striped mitten that was surely missing its mate).  Hmmmmmmmmmmm, I wondered how it came to be lost and if it would ever be reunited with its owner.   I ventured a little further, now 15 minutes into my journey, where I found the remains of a few fallen trees.  To my surprise, almost as if protected from the elements all winter long just for my photo du’ jour, I spotted it, my reason for braving the cold…………

4 comments on “March 13, 2014”

  1. Good foto & commentary. Love the poem for sure….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

